Passing Through: Zurich Airport

20130823-004505.jpg

I had a layover in Zurich, one of the swankiest airports I’ve seen. There is a nice view of the Swiss alps in the distance. And there are shops selling luxury goods ranging from watches and champagne to caviar and Burberry. Which of course made me wonder just who buys these items in an airport, anyway.

Rather than plugs and unsightly cords everywhere, there was a machine where you create a code and your phone is locked away for 20 minutes for a charge. Even the doors to the bathroom were automated. Someone snickered when I refilled a water bottle. And, like that strange difference between budget hotels and luxury ones, the wifi didn’t work, but you could pay an additional charge for it.

20130823-005725.jpg

20130823-005750.jpg

20130823-010156.jpg
Thankfully, I was on my way before this place could burn a hole in my wallet.

2 thoughts on “Passing Through: Zurich Airport

Leave a Reply

