Home Sweet Home

Returning home after a trip can be equally hectic, especially if you’ve hardly had time to unpack and do laundry and you’re already running around. Some people like to have a free day to settle in, but if you travel a lot for work you often find yourself returning to the office in the morning after a late flight for some face time with that pesky HR manager who thinks work travel is vacation.

Here are some tips on how to make that transition painless:

  • Organization

The more organized you are, the easier it is to travel often. I keep lists of things I need to do when I return home, so I don’t forget. And I keep my ducks in a row so it’s easy: bill payments are automated, the pantry is stocked, and I try to take care of things in advance as much as possible.

  •  Eat Well

My body craves a home cooked meal after spending so much time eating in restaurants and too many catered lunch boxes. I leave a few pint containers with soup, chili, or cooked vegetables in the freezer, so I can eat healthy and lose any extra travel pounds. I keep my produce in those green plastic bags so anything I haven’t eaten before leaving lasts longer, and try to have at least a few apples on hand if it’s a shorter trip.

  •  Take it Easy

I don’t make any plans on my first weekend day back, and am completely happy to watch movies and relax. I try to cook something that takes a longer time while I’m lounging, like a pot of beans or roasting meat, so I have good food when I’m done.

  •  Clean Something

Even though I leave my place tidy before a trip, I sweep or clean something or do a small home improvement project right away, so I feel at home in my space again.

  • Make a Plan

Whether it’s buying something online that will be delivered in a few days or setting a date with a friend, I do one thing that I will look forward to in my hometown.

  • Get Outside

Sometimes if I’ve been surrounded by colleagues 24/7, I need some extra time alone when I get home. But I do take a walk, get some fresh air, and get used to being in my neighborhood again.

What do you do to adjust to being home after some time on the road?

4 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

